Christmas Eve – Anticipating Gifts (You Are One of My Favorites!)

I recently received an amazing email from a good friend and colleague (shared with permission):

“I have spent much of the last three days and nights alongside my dad in ER and now in a rehab center.  He is handling his decline in mental and physical abilities with grace and love.  He has Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, and now pneumonia.  I was feeding him his breakfast early this a.m. and he looked straight in my eyes (he never really looked at me in this way when I was a child) and said “I love you.”  This was a man that did not demonstrate affection or nurture for the first 40 years of my life and now, as I am 50, that is all he can do.  It shows me how powerful God as love and consistent presence can be… I am filled with gratitude.”

“Wow” was my one word response.   If you would, please read through it once or twice more and try to imagine the healing and joy God provides for that family this holiday season.  I see sacrifice, comfort, renewed relationship, recovered opportunity, and radical love.  What do you see?

Each year about this time God gives me His Christmas gift in the form of a quiet moment to reflect on the people and relationships He blesses me with throughout the year.  Rather than filling this page with my words and thoughts, I’ll stop here and invite you to ask God what blessings He has for you.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Merry Christmas and happy New Year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

